Three Non-Fiction Favs

 

I’ve always been a voracious reader but the increased availability of accessible books continues to dazzle me.   Maybe near book depravation is the cause!

Let me explain.  Recorded books for folks who are blind have been available for many years, you sign up and selections are mailed to you on loan.  The service is very functional today but years ago I recall getting my December magazines in July, not very effective for making Christmas cookies!  (Thank goodness for freezers)! 

 

 

Also I recall when I was pregnant the most current prenatal information I could find was 20 years old.  My OBGYN told me not to read it! 

So, maybe you can understand why, with books on Kindle, Nook, and iBooks apps all available, I am reading like never before!  I still can’t shake the feeling that I should grab a cool title and read it before it disappears!

 

 

My first accessible electronic   book purchase was “The Elephant Whisperer: My Life with the Herd in the African Wild”,  by Lawrence Anthony. The Author, noted conservationist, takes in a herd of “troubled” wild elephants and recounts gaining their trust and learning how they communicate across distances. I’ve always loved elephants but never so much as when reading this book! 

  
Another fascinating read is “Reality is Broken:  Why Games Make Us Better and How They Can Change the World” by Jane McGonigal.  The Premise is basically that people feel rewarded when playing games and that games can be developed and used to solve family and societal problems.  She gives many intrigueing examples of “crowd-sourced” energy being harness by games to tackle family problems like doing the laundry, issues in science and energy policies,   and learning vocabulary.  I re-read parts of this periodically and brainstorm about ways to apply her thoughts in the disability world. 

 

 

Another interesting book, “The Riddle of the Labyrinth” by Margalit Fox, presents a fascinating account of the deciphering of pictograms on clay tablets from 1450 B. C.  The language is unknown and it takes many years and several involved investigators to crack the code.  It’s a good thing I’m blind because I would have lost major time to the deciphering challenge!

 

 

Well, I must go look at the latest e-mail hawking cheaper electronic books — I might miss something!!

 

My Favorite Non-Fiction…

Leave a Reply

